AViD Logo

2014 AViD Author Series >

It’s Raining Authors This Year!

Join us for the Des Moines Public Library’s 2014 AViD (Authors Visiting in Des Moines) series as it kicks off in April! A noted TEDx speaker and University of Iowa researcher, Dr. Terry Wahls begins the series on book tour for her newly published book, The Wahls Protocol: How I Beat Progressive MS Using Paleo Principles and Functional Medicine, at 2:30 PM on Sunday, April 6 the Central Library.

Iowa State University professor Neil Nakadate will share his memoir, Looking after Minidoka: An American Memoir, a haunting tale of his parents’ experiences in a Japanese internment camp, on Wednesday, April 16 at 7:00 PM at the Central Library.

Romance will be in the air for a special afternoon event featuring three of the hottest New Adult writers from HarperCollins. Come to the Central Library to meet Cora Carmack, J Lynn, and Jay Crownover on Sunday, April 27 at 2:30 PM.

Writer David Haynes, from Southern Methodist University, will visit the Central Library on Wednesday, May 7 at 7:00 PM, to talk about his award-winning novels, including his newest mystery, A Star in the Face of the Sky.

In June, two outstanding fiction writers will visit Des Moines. Don’t miss Thomas Maltman whose book Little Wolves was selected for this year’s All Iowa Reads. His program will be held at the Central Library on Tuesday, June 10 at 7:00 PM. And readers looking for a good beach read won’t want to miss Dorothea Benton Frank, bestselling author of fourteen novels, when she speaks at the Central Library at 7:00 PM on Wednesday, June 18.

Just in time for the Iowa State Fair, visit Central Library on Tuesday, August 12 at 7:00 PM for a delicious presentation by Beth Howard as she shares tips and recipes from her new book, Ms. American Pie: Buttery Good Pie Recipes and Bold Tales from the American Gothic House.

In September, Wally Lamb visits to talk about his novel We Are Water, a disquieting and ultimately uplifting novel about a marriage, a family, and human resilience in the face of tragedy.

Celebrate the Wonder of Words with an AViD EXTRA! event featuring one of America’s most popular poets, Billy Collins. Come early for a free program at Hoyt Sherman Place Theater on Sunday, November 16 at 7:00 PM.

The AViD Author Series is sponsored by the Des Moines Public Library Foundation with financial support from these generous donors: Nationwide Insurance Foundation, Douglas & Deborah West, Wells Fargo, the Downtown Community Alliance and the Wonder of Words Festival, Humanities Iowa and the National Endowment for the Humanities, Ellen Hubbell, Dr. Richard Deming, Principal Financial Foundation, Kelly & Brad Edmister, and Rusty Hubbell. In-Kind Support has been received from: Hoyt Sherman Place Theater, Iowa Public Radio, Iowa History Center at Simpson College, Drake University, and University of Iowa Alumni Association. Books will be available for purchase and signing at all AViD events, courtesy of Beaverdale Books and The Book Store.

AViD 2014 Authors [printable] » 

AViD Author titles available at the library »

Catch your favorite AVID authors on the City of Des Moines YouTube channel youtube.com/cityofdesmoinesiowa or on Mediacom cable channel 7, 86 and 97-1 (still on three channels) on these dates and times.

  • Mondays and Fridays: 10:30 AM
  • Tuesdays and Saturdays 6:00 PM
  • Wednesdays and Sundays 8:00 PM

Past AViD Authors


AViD 2013 Authors

Mitch Albom
Mary Jane Clark [watch on youtube]
Ayana Mathis [watch on youtube]
Michael Perry [watch on youtube]
Cheryl Strayed [watch on youtube]
Amy Tan
Karen Thompson Walker [watch on youtube]

Checkout the AViD 2013 DVDs >

AViD 2012 Authors

Larry Baker [watch on youtube]
Steve Berry [watch on youtube]
Meg Cabot [watch on youtube]
Wil Haygood [watch on youtube]
Tracy Kidder
Erik Larson

Checkout the AViD 2012 DVDs >

AViD 2011 Authors

Dr. Benjamin Beck, Dr. Robert Shumaker, and Dr. Kristina R. Walkup
Patrick J. Carr [watch on youtube]
Conor Grennan
Anne Lamott
Debbie Macomber [watch on youtube]
Robert V. Morris
Rainbow Rowell [watch on youtube]

Checkout the AViD 2011 DVDs >

AViD 2010 Authors

Peter Bognanni [watch on youtube]
Claire Cook
Ivan Doig
Camille Dungy [watch on youtube]
Sara Gruen [watch on youtube]
James Grippando
Peter Hedges
Carolyn Jessop [watch on youtube]
David Lipsky [watch on youtube]
Nick Reding [watch on youtube]
Gail Sheehy

Checkout the AViD 2010 DVDs >

AViD 2009 Authors

Elizabeth Berg [watch on youtube]
Steven Biel
Lawrence Block
Carrie Brown
David Ebershoff [watch on youtube]
Jane Hamilton [watch on youtube]
Marion Blumenthal Lazan [watch on youtube]
Lisa See
William Taubman
Omar Tyree

Checkout the AViD 2009 DVDs >

AViD 2008 Authors

George Guidall [watch on youtube]
Joanne Harris [watch on youtube]
Mildred Kalish [watch on youtube]

Laura Lippman [watch on youtube]
Alexander McCall Smith
Paul Shirley [watch on youtube]

Checkout the AViD 2008 DVDs >

AViD 2007 Authors

Jim Autry
Shirley Damsgaard
Bill Geist
Nikki Giovanni
Masha Hamilton
Chip Kidd
Erik Larson
Greg Mortenson
Mary Doria Russell

Checkout the AViD 2007 DVDs >

AViD 2006 Authors

Maureen Corrigan
Diane Mott Davidson
Mark Doty
Janet Evanovich
Michael Gartner
David Laskin
Barbara Robinette Moss
Molly Peacock
James Tate

Checkout the AViD 2006 DVDs >

AViD 2005 Authors

Elizabeth Berg
Dayton Duncan
Don Harstad
Peter Hedges
Cokie Roberts
Luis J. Rodriguez

Checkout the AViD 2005 DVDs >

AViD 2004 Authors

Rick Bragg
Ruth Irene Garrett
Philip Margolin
Dow Mossman and Mark Moskowitz
Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Juan Williams

Checkout the AViD 2004 DVDs >

AViD 2003 Authors

Chris Bohjalian
Nancy Carlson
Max Allan Collins
Tom Hallman
J.A. Jance
Jacquelyn Mitchard

Checkout the AViD 2003 DVDs >

AViD 2002 Authors

Stephen Bloom
Tom Bodett
Donald Kaul
Tinker Marks
Lisa Scottoline
Eleanora Tate

Checkout the AViD 2002 DVDs >

AViD 2001 Authors

Bill Bryson
Donald Harstad
Barbara Robinette Moss