Staff Picks - July 2019

    • Bird Box
      Josh Malerman

      This is a horror-thriller about a woman named Malorie trying to make it to safety with her two young children in a world where there’s something terrifying that must not be seen so you always need to be blindfolded while outside. Interweaving past and present, this is a horrific and gripping snapshot of a world unraveled that will have you racing to the final page.

    • Bluff
      Jane Stanton Hitchcock

      A fallen socialite sets in motion a plan for revenge that begins by intentionally shooting the wrong man at a fancy New York restaurant. One twist after another follows as her scheme plays out. Her success depends on her ability to bluff--and on who will fold. A tale of deceit, seduction and revenge, perfect for fans of Mary Kubica and Jeffery Deaver!

    • Doing Justice
      Preet Bharara

      A former U.S. attorney takes us through the American criminal justice system from investigation to trial and sentencing. I could hardly believe how entertaining this book about the law is. He shares this process primarily through engaging and fascinating personal stories and case histories. Great audiobook choice as well. - Carrie

    • The Flatshare
      Beth O'Leary

      Tiffy and Leon share an apartment. Tiffy and Leon have never met. But they soon become friends through writing notes. What if your roommate is your soul mate, even if you’ve never met? A joyful, quirky romantic comedy about finding love in the most unexpected of ways.

    • How Not to Die Alone
      Richard Roper

      Smart, darkly funny, and life-affirming, this is the bighearted debut novel we all need. It's a story about love, loneliness, and the importance of taking a chance when we feel we have the most to lose. For fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

    • I Capture the Castle
      Dodie Smith

      Like the Flavia De Luce series? Then try this fictional journal of 17-year-old Cassandra Mortmain. Set in 1934 it reveals her view of six eventful months in the eccentric, poverty-stricken life of her family in a ruined castle. It is as brightly witty and adventuresome as when first published over fifty years ago. Delightful!

    • I Wish You All the Best
      Mason Deaver

      I love how this teen novel realistically portrays a young person coming out to family and friends in contemporary times. I think this story will be relatable to many LGBTQ+ youths and will help them on their journey to figuring out who they are and the life they want to lead. I really enjoyed reading it. - Athena

    • Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me
      Mariko Tamaki

      Frederica Riley's effortlessly cool girlfriend Laura Dean is the most popular girl in school. Laura breaks Freddy's heart over and over, but Freddy still takes her back each time. This superb graphic novel has its finger on the pulse of teenage concerns as it explores toxic relationships and social dynamics at the cusp of adulthood.

    • The Lost Gutenberg
      Margaret Leslie Davis

      The never-before-told story of one extremely rare copy of the Gutenberg Bible, and its impact on the lives of the fanatical few who were lucky enough to own it. This is a must-read for history buffs, book collectors, seekers of hidden treasures, and anyone who has ever craved a remarkable book--and its untold stories.

    • The Missing Season
      Gillian French

      A wonderfully spare, slow-burn teen thriller about the new girl in town. Come for the creeping sense of dread, stay for the fully fleshed characters and depiction of working-class Maine. – Katie

    • Red Sister
      Mark Lawrence

      In this epic fantasy trilogy, Novice Nona Grey follows the path to become a sister in a militant order of nuns on a distant planet with a dying sun. Her training in the art of combat, magic, stealth and religious study will prepare her for the coming ice age. Her story begins in this book and ends with the final volume which came out this spring.

    • Red, White & Royal Blue
      Casey McQuiston

      What would happen if the U.S. President’s son fell for the Prince of Wales? There is only one way to find out. This big-hearted romance will make you laugh, maybe cry, and just feel good. - Sarah L.

    • Run Away
      Coben, Harlan

      When a father finds his missing, drug addicted daughter panhandling in a park, he tries to save her. Instead, he gets wrapped up in a dangerous world of lies, drugs, and murder in this very twisty, fast paced thriller. A suspenseful page turner. - Steph

    • The Second Mrs. Hockaday
      Susan Rivers

      A debut novel, told in epistolary form, set during the latter stages of the Civil War and a generation later in the early 1890s. In 1863, despite their quarter-century age difference, seventeen-year-old Placidia Fincher makes a snap judgment to marry a widowed Confederate Army major, and her fate quickly goes south from there. - Kevin

    • A Woman of No Importance
      Sonia Purnell

      Based on new and extensive research, Purnell has uncovered the full secret life of Virginia Hall--an astounding and inspiring story of heroism, spy-craft, resistance, and personal triumph over shocking adversity. A breathtaking story of how one woman's fierce persistence helped change the course of World War II.