Funny Reads

    • The Awkward Thoughts of W. Kamau Bell
      W. Kamau Bell

      The comedian and star of CNN's United Shades of America, says he's always been awkward. In this humorous and thought-provoking memoir, each chapter tackles a different topic (youth, stand-up comedy, sexism, parenting, and politics) with appealing awkwardness. This is a must-read if you're a Bell fan or addicted to social and political humor.

    • Everything's Trash but It's Okay
      Phoebe Robinson

      2 Dope Queens star Phoebe Robinson is ready to share everything she's experienced in the hope that, if you can laugh at her topsy-turvy life, you can laugh at your own. Written in her trademark unfiltered, witty style, this latest essay collection is a call to arms as she provides a candid perspective for a generation that has had the rug pulled out from under it too many times to count.

    • The Greatest Love Story Ever Told
      Megan Mullally and Nick Offerman

      The popular comedic couple trace the story of their relationship, sharing anecdotes, family photos and secrets that reveal how they overcame considerable social differences through their shared values and mutual love of music and laughter.

    • Help Me!
      Marianne Power

      Freelance journalist Marianne Power attempts to follow one self-help book each month throughout the course of a year, getting herself into hilarious, though occasionally poignant plights in this witty and honest book.

    • How to Be Alone
      Lane Moore

      A funny and poignant memoir from the former Sex & Relationships Editor for Cosmopolitan and host of Tinder Live with Lane Moore. Moore reveals her powerful and entertaining journey in all its candor, anxiety, and ultimate acceptance--with humor always her bolstering force and greatest gift.

    • In Such Good Company
      Carol Burnett

      Burnett tells the hilarious behind-the-scenes story of her iconic weekly variety series as she delves into little-known stories as well as favorite tales too good not to relive again. Spotlighting everyone from costars to guest stars, she details the hiring of the cast and shares anecdotes on favorite sketches and unexpected moments. A love letter to a golden era of television.

    • It's All Relative
      A.J. Jacobs

      Traces the author's three-year investigation into what constitutes family, describing how, after receiving an e-mail from a stranger who claimed to be a distant cousin, he embarked on an effort to build the biggest family tree in history.

    • Not Quite a Genius
      Nate Dern

      A collection of absurdist, hilarious stories and essays on relationships, technology, and contemporary society. Dern's razor-sharp eye examines everything from man buns to dating apps, including an open letter to Charles Manson, an archaeologist's exploration into a suburban man cave and an angry missive from Leif Erikson to Christopher Columbus. A wicked and funny take on modern life.

    • Nothing Good Can Come From This
      Kristi Coulter

      When Coulter quit drinking, she started noticing things. Like when you give up a debilitating habit, it leaves a space, one that can't easily be filled. Her debut collection reveals a portrait of a life in transition, by turns hilarious and heartrending. It will make you laugh at and think critically about the booze-soaked world we live in. Perfect for fans of Sloane Crosley, David Sedaris and Cheryl Strayed.

    • The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck
      Mark Manson

      Filled with entertaining stories and profane, ruthless humor, a generation-defining self-help guide, written by a blogger who is read by more than 2 million people each month, helps readers figure out the things that they should care about to lead contented, grounded lives.

    • There Are No Grown-ups
      Pamela Druckerman

      Charts the unexplored realities of being a 40-something in today's world in laugh-out-loud essays that explore the decade when your doctor starts restricting your physical activity, your can't wear ironic outfits anymore, and you finally realize everyone else is winging it, too. A witty dispatch from the front lines of the forties for those in midlife, and also for anyone trying to find their place in the world.

    • The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness
      Paula Poundstone

      Is there a secret to happiness? Offering herself up as a human guinea pig in a series of thoroughly unscientific experiments, Poundstone tries out a different get-happy hypothesis in each chapter of her data-driven search. Does any of it work? You may be laughing too hard to care.

    • Vacationland
      John Hodgman

      A memoir of cursed travels through the woods of Massachusetts and coastal Maine, midlife transformation from an idealistic youth to an eccentric family man and observations on such subjects as the horror of freshwater clams and the evolutionary purpose of the mustache. A funny, poignant and sincere account of one human facing his forties.

    • Your Dad Stole My Rake
      Tom Papa

      How do you deal with a life filled with a whole host of characters and their bizarre, inescapable behavior? Especially when you're related to them? Tom Papa is here to help you make sense of it all in a hilarious and warm book that saws deep into every branch of the family tree and uncovers the most bizarre and surprisingly meaningful aspects of our lives.