Mysteries

    • Beneath the Mountain
      Luca D'Andrea

      A New York documentary filmmaker, visiting his wife's small mountain community in the majestic Italian Dolomites, is challenged to unravel the truth about a decades-old triple murder in the wake of a devastating accident.

    • Blood Strand
      Chris Ould

      British police detective, Jan Reyna, returns to the Faroes Islands to visit his estranged father who has been stricken by a stroke. He arrives to find his father at the center of a rare island mystery. Looking for answers, Reyna falls in with local detective Hjalti Hentze. This one is a winner for fans of both Scandinavian and British procedurals with many unexpected twists en route to the satisfying ending.

    • The Bomb Maker
      Thomas Perry

      A lethally clever designer of explosives tests the skills and collective strength of the highly skilled LAPD Bomb Squad.

    • Darktown
      Thomas Mullen

      A riveting story set in 1948, of a murder, corrupt police, and strained race relations that feels torn from today's headlines. The Atlanta P.D. is forced to hire its first black officers but they aren’t allowed to drive squad cars, arrest white suspects or set foot in headquarters. When a black woman last seen in a white man’s car is found dead, two of the new recruits investigate even though it could end their careers and maybe their lives.

    • The Department of Sensitive Crimes
      Alexander McCall Smith

      Tasked with their Swedish Police Department's most unusual cases, lead detective Ulf Varg and his colorful associates investigate a bizarre stabbing, a lost imaginary boyfriend and a haunted spa.

    • Down the River Unto the Sea
      Walter Mosley

      Framed by enemies within the NYPD and forced to serve a decade in prison, private detective Joe King Oliver receives a confession from a woman who helped set him up, a situation that compels him to investigate his own case at the same time he assists a black radical journalist who has been wrongly accused of murdering two corrupt cops.

    • Go to My Grave
      Catriona McPherson

      A group of estranged cousins staying at a refurbished bed and breakfast in Galloway realize they had stayed there decades ago for a birthday party that started with schnapps and ended with a girl walking into the sea to her death. Each of them had made a vow of silence: But now someone has broken the pact. This is both a classic country house mystery and a thriller with mind-bending twists.

    • The Good Detective
      John McMahon

      Struggling with his professional detachment after the death of his wife and son, once-promising detective P. T. Marsh is implicated in the death of an abusive man who is subsequently linked to a hate killing.

    • Jar of Hearts
      Jennifer Hillier

      A suspenseful thriller told from multiple perspectives. A Seattle detective must unravel a web of secrets dating back to his high school days.

    • The Lost Man
      Jane Harper

      Meeting at the remote fence line separating their cattle ranches on an isolated belt of the Australian outback, two brothers navigate the haunting realities of the isolation that ended their third brother's life.

    • Malice
      Keigo Higashino

      Set in 1996, this is the first of the Detective Kaga novels to be translated into English. A nearly perfect example of the deduction-based mystery novel, this artfully constructed tale begins with the murder of bestselling author Kunihiko Hidaka in a locked office of his locked home. It’s a classic cat-and-mouse game between the detective and the killer with twists that keep the pages turning.

    • Murder in Belgravia
      Lynn Brittney

      London, 1915. As World War I engulfs Europe, a special task force is formed in the affluent Mayfair district to tackle the city’s thorniest crimes against women. When the bobbies and Scotland Yard come up short, there’s only one telephone number to dial: Mayfair 100.

    • Prussian Blue
      Philip Kerr

      When his cover is blown, former Berlin bull and unwilling SS officer Bernie Gunther must re-enter a cat-and-mouse game that continues to shadow his life a decade after Germany's defeat in World War 2... 1939 and 1956: two different eras about to converge in an explosion Bernie Gunther will never forget. Book 12 in the series.

    • She Lies in Wait
      Gytha Lodge

      The discovery of the body of a teen who went missing in the woods 30 years earlier reopens a cold case for a local police officer, who makes contact with six people from his past to uncover what happened.

    • They All Fall Down
      Rachel Howzell Hall

      Delighted by a surprise invitation, Miriam Macy sails off to a luxurious private island off the coast of Mexico with six other strangers. Danger lurks in the lush forest and in the halls and bedrooms of the lonely mansion. Sporadic cell-phone coverage and miles of ocean keeps the group trapped in paradise. Strange accidents stir suspicions, as one by one...they all fall down.