Staff Picks - March 2019

    • Adulthood is a Myth
      Sarah Andersen

      Lately, I've been reading Sarah Andersen's comics. Her work is incredibly funny because of its relatability and honesty about being so-called adults. Millennials and young people everywhere will especially find the humor in the undoing of the myth of "adulthood." This collection presents many fan favorites plus new ones exclusive to the book.

    • Becoming
      Michelle Obama

      An intimate memoir by the former First Lady chronicles the experiences that have shaped her remarkable life, from her childhood on the South Side of Chicago through her setbacks and achievements in the White House. Warm, wise, and revelatory, this is the deeply personal reckoning of a woman of soul and substance who has steadily defied expectations - and whose story inspires us to do the same.

    • Born a Crime
      Trevor Noah

      I liked this nonfiction book because the author gave a lot of insight into South Africa that I was not aware of, in addition to his personal story of growing up during the apartheid. The stories collected here are by turns hilarious, dramatic, and deeply affecting.

    • Broken Ground
      Val McDermid

      When a would-be heiress uncovers a murdered body rather than her hidden inheritance in a Highland peat bog, cold case detective DCI Pirie unravels a case where nothing is what it seems. It's an engrossing, twisty thriller and a tight police procedural with a strong female lead. While this is the fifth in the series, newcomers are brought up to speed. Fans of Tana French and Ian Rankin will be delighted.

    • Crucible
      James Rollins

      Does it seem like your computer knows too much about you? Like when you look at airfare to another city and the next website includes advertisements for hotels in that city? Artificial Intelligence may be the next threat to humanity. In this imaginative adventure, Rollins ties AI of the future to witchcraft of the past and makes a serious case for putting away those devices.

    • Femme Magnifique
      Shelly Bond

      A comic book anthology salute to 50 magnificent women who take names, crack ceilings, and change the game in pop, politics, art, and science. Female trailblazers of yesterday and today are featured in 3-page short stories. Part mini biopics and part personal inspiration this project united over 100 comic book artists from around the globe.

    • Fewer, Better Things
      Glenn Adamson

      I really liked this book by the former director of the Museum of Arts and Design in New York. From the title it sounds like it's about downsizing or simplifying, but it's more an inquiry into the history, beauty and utility of everyday objects. Knowing how things are made helps us connect to the world around us.

    • Fortress Vader
      Charles Soule

      I read this teen graphic novel over the weekend. It has Darth Vader making his new base on the planet Mustafar, where he lost his wife, Padme Amidala, and almost died in his battle with Obi-Wan Kenobi (shown in the movie Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith). This is where Darth Vader was born. Cool!

    • 41 Reasons I'm Staying In
      Hallie Heald

      A beautiful graphic novel about taking the night off. Each page has a different character pursuing their hobbies, interests, and dreams from the comfort of their own homes. This humorous book shows that being alone, not lonely, can be a rewarding and rejuvenating endeavor. - Sarah L.

    • Intercepted
      Alexa Martin

      Marlee thought she scored the man of her dreams only to be scorched by a bad breakup. But there's a new player on the horizon, and he's in a league of his own... Fresh voices and strong multicultural characters from every rung of the social ladder make Martin's debut novel a must-read for fans of contemporary romance with a sporty twist.

    • Lies
      T. M. Logan

      While driving home one day, Joe sees his wife’s car enter a hotel parking lot, and he decides to follow her. Joe spends the rest of the story uncovering lies and wondering what the truth is. This is a suspenseful page-turner, full of twists, and I did not see the ending coming! - Steph

    • Martin Dressler
      Steven Millhauser

      This Pulitzer Prize winning novel blends historical fiction and magic realism to tell the story of an architect building the greatest hotel in the world. The hotel could never actually be, but you’ll desperately wish it could. Full of delicious details, this book is all about dreams and fantasies, recreated in architecture. – Cat

    • My Sister, the Serial Killer
      Oyinkan Braithwaite

      This darkly comic novel tells the story of a Nigerian woman who begins to realize her younger sister is, as the title suggests, a serial killer. Part femme-fatale thriller, part exploration of sibling bonds and rivalries, the book has enough sharp twists and payoffs that you won’t want to put it down and is fast-paced and short enough that you won’t have to. – Tim

    • The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane
      Lisa See

      I love to drink hot tea, and this book really took me to a whole other level in learning about its history. From a tribe high in a remote village of China, who’ve been guardians of a very rare and favored tea for centuries to the present-day American adoption of an unwanted girl child this is a story in which tea has shaped a family's destiny for generations. A warm winter read. - Luann

    • You Think It, I'll Say It
      Curtis Sittenfeld

      I haven’t read a collection of short stories in a very long time (Thank you DMPL 2019 Reading Challenge!), and I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Sittenfeld does a good job of creating characters that are believable and to whom I connected in a short amount of time. I didn’t like all her characters, which was also a bonus as it made them more human, but they’ve lingered with me. As an aside, I listened to this in audio and it’s narrated by both female and male voices.