Staff Picks - September 2018

    • The Brain Warrior's Way
      Daniel G. Amen and Tana Amen

      Your brain runs your life. When it works right, your body works right. Master your brain and body for the rest of your life with the scientifically-designed program laid out in this book. Get the tools to take control and live a better life - the key to victory rests between your ears!

    • Clock Dance
      Anne Tyler

      In her classic style, Tyler follows a woman, Willa Drake, through various formative stages of her life. She relates how Willa’s views of the world change as she ages - but also how the world itself has changed. Poignant and relatable. - Sue

    • Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency: The Salmon of Doubt

      This two-volume graphic series ties in with the BBC America show Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency based on the original Douglas Adams books. It gives an extra layer of depth to an already intricate and fascinating plot. An excellent read for a fan of either the show or the book series. - Carrie

    • The Dry
      Jane Harper

      A thickly plotted literary mystery set in a small drought-stricken town in the Australian outback where old and new murders have unhinged the inhabitants. A former resident, now a federal investigator, is summoned to his hometown for the funeral of the three current victims, which include his one-time best friend. The investigator, a suspect in the earlier case, can’t wait to leave, but various circumstances draw him in and delay his departure.

    • If You See Me, Don't Say Hi
      Neel Patel

      The title story is about two first-generation Indian American brothers, their coming of age and their relationship unraveling. All the stories revolve around Indian American characters and the stereotypes they deal with, the expectations from family, and society pressures. I'd recommend this short story collection for sure. I really enjoyed it. - Veronica

    • Julia Vanishes
      Catherine Egan

      This series starter stands out amongst YA fantasy for its complicated characters, beautiful prose and unique world-building. A fun and exciting read! - Katie

    • A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder
      Dianne Freeman

      This book mixes Jane Austen manners and etiquette with a murder mystery. The characters are likable and the plot moves along while keeping the reader guessing. I really enjoyed it! - Katy

    • Look Alive Out There
      Sloane Crosley

      Crosley’s collection of essays is a humorous and witty look at life. She writes on a range of topics, from the noisy teenage boy next door who disturbs her peace, to the time she appeared on Gossip Girl, to climbing a volcano. Each essay is fresh and funny; I found myself smiling throughout. – Stephanie

    • Loose Woman
      Sandra Cisneros

      Alumna of the University of Iowa MFA in Creative Writing, Sandra Cisneros showcases her poetry in this anthology that subverts gender roles and expectations tied to her cultural heritage. - Marlu

    • Northland
      Porter Fox

      Fox travels along the U.S.-Canadian border, meeting all kinds of people and sharing the history of the border, Native Americans, westward settlement, the Great Lakes and more. He also documents the environmental changes happening on the landscape the border crosses. It’s eye-opening, interesting, and something different!

    • A Simple Favor
      Darcey Bell

      A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. It’s a remarkable tale of psychological suspense that masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page. Coming soon as a major motion picture!

    • Soulless
      Gail Carriger

      Meet one of the most pragmatic protagonists in history. Alexia Tarabotti has no soul, which means she can turn supernatural creatures mortal again, and has no time for the social etiquette of aristocratic Victorian London. Both of these traits get her into trouble when unexpected vampires enter the city, and the dreadful werewolf, Lord Maccon, is tasked to investigate in this steampunk comedy of manners. – Sarah L.

    • Still Lives
      Maria Hummel

      A young editor at a Los Angeles art museum is pulled into the disturbing and dangerous world of a famous artist who goes missing on the opening night of her exhibition. I was hooked from the moment I started. Kept me guessing until the end – couldn’t stop listening! – Sarah S.

    • Undead Girl Gang
      Lily Anderson

      While investigating the supposed suicides of her best friend, Riley, and mean girls June and Dayton, sixteen-year-old Wiccan Mila Flores accidentally brings them back to life. They don’t remember their murders but they do have unfinished business to attend to so Mila must wrangle the undead teens and work fast to uncover their murderer…before the killer strikes again.

    • What the Eyes Don't See
      Mona Hanna-Attisha

      A compelling memoir by the pediatrician who took on the local, state, and federal government to protect the children of Flint, Michigan from lead-tainted water. - Kate