Staff Picks - June 2018

    • Alex and Eliza
      Melissa De la Cruz

      Teen historical romance at it's best with a very young Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler. Set in 1877, they struggle for her parents' approval to marry Alex as he's considered a man with no family and no money, and Eliza is from a Society family. We see the complications and how true love can conquer them in this charming story loosely based on their real-life courtship.

    • The Coincidence Makers
      Yoav Blum

      Part thriller, part mystery, part love story—it’s been called "a smart, unpredictable, and heartfelt adventure story." In this genre-bending novel, there is no such thing as chance and every action is carefully executed by highly trained agents. You'll never look at coincidences the same way again.

    • Crazy Rich Asians
      Kevin Kwan

      If you are fascinated by how the crazy rich live, you have to pick up this book immediately. The perfect beach read. Soak up some sun and read about shopping sprees in Paris and back stabbing in Singapore. This is a delicious read that is going to become a movie soon! - Sarah L.

    • The Dark Angel
      Elly Griffiths

      Join Ruth Galloway, forensic archeologist, in this newest book in the series. This time she travels to Italy to help an old acquaintance assess some ancient bones and stumbles on another mystery dating back to World War II. Fans of strong-minded women and wry humor will enjoy this.

    • The Hearts We Sold
      Emily Lloyd-Jones

      After Dee Moreno, seventeen, makes a deal with a demon, trading her heart for the chance of a good education, she becomes part of a group of "heartless" teens engaged in fighting a paranormal war. A young adult novel that’s an intoxicating blend of fantasy, horror, and romance.

    • In the Shadow of Statues
      Mitch Landrieu

      This account by the New Orleans mayor who removed Confederate statues from the city helped me understand the racism that shapes many Americans as he argues for white America to reckon with its past. - Richard

    • The Jane Austen Project
      Kathleen Flynn

      What if you could go back in time and meet Jane Austen? In a near-future society where time travel is possible, Austen aficionado Rachel Katzman is sent back in time with her handsome partner Liam to find Austen's lost manuscript and discover the cause of her fatal illness. A perfect genre blend for fans of either Jane Austen or time travel science fiction. - Carrie

    • The Mothers
      Brit Bennett

      This novel opens in a strikingly original way, with the scene set by the collective voice of a group of mothers in an African-American community in southern California. Beautifully written, it traces the consequences of secret choices made by a group of friends during their last summer before adulthood. - Heather

    • My Lady Jane
      Cynthia Hand

      A thoroughly fun and whimsical alternate history of the Lady Jane Grey, who was Queen of England for a few short days in the 1500’s. Told like a quirky fairytale, this book is great for fans of Ella Enchanted and The Princess Bride. The next installment of the Lady Jane series is due to come out in June of this year.

    • Paris by the Book
      Liam Callanan

      This story grabbed me from the first sentence ("Once a week, I chase men who are not my husband . . .") and pulled me right into the story of a Midwestern family who cope with loss by moving to Paris and running a bookstore. Add in all the literary references, plus a character who reveals he’s from Des Moines, not to mention the setting (Paris!) and I was enthralled from start to finish.- Kate

    • Revolution Song
      Russell Shorto

      This group biography is by our final AViD author for 2018. It’s the story of the American Revolution through the eyes of six different participants – including George Washington, a slave, and an American Indian. It’s getting me in the mood for Hamilton! - Sue

    • Salt, Sugar, Fat
      Michael Moss

      Stars, rounds or squares? The small pack, the family size or mini? Spicy, cheesy or cilantro lime? And how many are in one serving and why can’t I stop at one? It’s overwhelming and not accidental. At times entertaining and definitely well researched, Moss guarantees you will never look at your food choices the same way.

    • To Die But Once
      Jacqueline Winspear

      Maisie Dobbs was a WWI nurse and has become a ‘psychologist and investigator’ in London. Now in the spring of 1940, while investigating the disappearance of a young apprentice working on a secret government contract she’s discovered suspicious links to the London underworld and another boy close to her heart. A complex and admirable character you’ll want to get to know.

    • Truly Devious
      Maureen Johnson

      Two interwoven mysteries takes place at a famous private school. The first occurred soon after the school opened and becomes a great unsolved crime of American history. Now, a new student has an ambitious plan to solve the cold case. But the perpetrator of the original crime appears to be back and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The tales dovetail brilliantly in this first book of a new teen series.

    • An Unkindness of Magicians
      Kat Howard

      Something is happening to the magic in NYC. No one understands it, except Sydney, a young magician with more power than has been seen in decades. But Sydney doesn’t want to restore the city’s power – she wants to destroy it. This is a fun dark fantasy with a strong protagonist and lots of imagination.